Terry Davidson

Terry on Kubota BX2370

Terry Davidson is 51 years old as of 2015 and likes to spend time around the house working on various projects. Sometimes it’s the house or it’s furniture, other times it’s building or fixing up something in the yard or garage. I like motorcycles, guitars, computers and the responsibilities of home ownership. I am currently the computer geek (IT Systems Administrator) for The Grand Rapids Area Chamber of Commerce and have been working in the Information Technology field for over a decade. Ronda and I have been married for 11 years and Suka has been with us for the past 10. Let me break it down for you a little .. give you the short version. I have spent a lifetime creating the long version and it is still in process.

I was born and raised in Kalamazoo, Michigan in a neighborhood where we watched the fields turn to houses as I grew older. We used to play kickball and fly kites in the field across the street from my house until they started building houses there.

I went to a public elementary school from kindergarten through fourth grade. In fifth grade I started school at LeMans Academy located in Rolling Prairie, Indiana. It was a military boarding school run by the Brothers of Holy Cross which combined academic and residential activities to about 120 students. When I started in 1974 they offered education to grades 5-8, but I think in 1976 they started a 9th grade. I graduated from the school after 8th grade in 1978. The school closed around 2002. I spent 5 years attending Comstock High School and graduated in 1983. That was strange since all through school I had been the class of 1982 so my last year of school and any of those high school reunions that can come up would be with people I didn’t really grow up with. Oh well, I did my time. You probably wonder why I went for 5 years .. well I’ll tell you. In my sophomore year of high school my mom asked if I wanted to travel the country with her while she was doing work. It was the beginning of frequent flyer miles and I could go along for minimal additional costs. The catch was I would probably be gone a lot and it may affect my school attendance record. Yeah, I ended up with something like 55 days of excused absences in a semester. That’s 11 of 18 weeks. I would do the homework and makeup tests but most of my teachers gave me an incomplete anyway. There was this science teacher though that had a different philosophy. He figured if I could be gone that much and still pull a B grade in his class, I deserved the grade. Go figure .. and that was a college prep chemistry class I was taking in an accelerated scholastic program during 10th grade. Public education was inferior compared to the 4 years of private school education I received so they tried to make it challenging.

After high school I was a working man. I didn’t go to college. I had a job and lived with 2 friends when I still had a year of high school to go so when I got out it was full time employment for me. I was enjoying the furniture repair and refinishing trade. I did woodworking until I was 25 and then I switched to water treatment sales and service. I got married at 24 but I was divorced by age 30. I did a bunch of different jobs and had a small business of my own to supplement my income doing property maintenance, landscaping and snow removal.

In 1996 I decided to get a career going in the computer industry. I evaluated college versus real world experience and knowledge … I chose the experience method. I was busy for a couple years learning computers and helping my brother with his work and projects. Some people need college to make them focus and some people are self taught and disciplined enough to stay focused on their goals. You know, that has really been an asset in my computer career.
So I moved to Grand Rapids, Michigan in 1998 for a nice technology job and turned into the computer guy doing the geeky thing. I met Ronda Kapenga in 2000. We started dating in 2001 and got married in 2004. We have a nice small ranch home with some grass to mow and good neighbors. Suka Monster cam along in April, 2005 and has completed our family.

I have always been into motorcycles and had to get my cycle endorsement when I was 16 because I owned a motorcycle and not a car. I started playing guitar around 1996 and the amount of time I spend on it varies from year to year. Some years I barely pick it up and there have been others where I jam with people on a regular basis. What it all boils down to is I don’t put to many miles on my cycles and I am not that good at guitar, but it’s fun.

I own 2 Suzuki road bikes. I bought the 2001 Intruder 800 new in the summer of 2001. It is a little smaller than many of my previous bikes but it really fit the use at the time. I have no intention of getting rid of it since it is really designed and built quite nicely.
The 1973 Suzuki GT550 is a project bike that I bought off a friend who was going into the army back in 1985. At the time I owned a 1978 KZ1000 so I didn’t ride this much but tore it down to restore it and have never finished it. It is pretty close but I never seem to polish the motor up and bolt it back together

Text Area

Just some text for testing new Sidebar